Tag Archives: Alcohol

TTB Updated Ruling On Use of “Gluten‐Free” on TTB‐Regulated Alcohol Beverages 04/11/2014

I just recieved an email from Tom Hogue Director, Congressional and Public Affairs Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau alerting me of some awesome changes to the TTB regulations on gluten free alcohol beverages. I will share my opinions in a later post. Here’s the official update!
February, 11, 2014
Use of “Gluten‐Free” on TTB‐Regulated Alcohol Beverages
We have completed our review of how the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) final rule on the use of the term “gluten‐free” in the labeling of products under FDA’s labeling jurisdiction impacts TTB’s interim policy on gluten content statements in the labeling and advertising of wines, distilled spirits, and malt beverages that we previously set forth in TTB Ruling 2012–2.
As a result of our review and consultation with FDA, we are updating our policy on gluten labeling. Given the important consumer health considerations relating to “gluten-free” claims, TTB believes that it is important to adopt an approach on this issue that is as consistent as possible with the regulations that FDA issued.
Under our updated policy, alcohol beverages that are made from ingredients that do not contain gluten (such as wines fermented from grapes or other fruit and distilled spirits distilled from materials other than gluten-containing grains) may continue to make “gluten-free” claims in the same way allowed in the new FDA regulations for inherently gluten-free products.
Consistent with the new FDA regulations, TTB will continue to consider “gluten-free” label claims for alcohol beverages that are made from gluten-containing grains to be misleading to consumers who are seeking to avoid the consumption of gluten for health reasons. However, products made from gluten-containing grains may be labeled with a statement that the product was “Processed,” “Treated,” or “Crafted” to remove gluten, if that claim is made together with a qualifying statement that warns the consumer that the gluten content of the product cannot be determined and that the product may contain gluten.
TTB may revise this policy after FDA issues a final rule or other guidance with respect to fermented and hydrolyzed products. In the interim, we remind consumers that the FDA has determined there is still no scientifically valid way to evaluate the claims that beers made from gluten-containing grains can be processed in a way that removes gluten and that there is inadequate evidence about whether such methods are effective.
Our Revised Interim Policy on Gluten Content Statements in the Labeling and Advertising of Wine, Distilled Spirits, and Malt Beverages (TTB Ruling 2014–2) can be found on our Web site at: http://www.ttb.gov/rulings/2014-2.pdf.

Pinnacle Salted Caramel

Pinnacle Salted Caramel – Gluten Free

Pinnacle Salted Caramel

Pinnacle vodka and flavorings are gluten free. Of all of the Pinnacle flavors I have sampled so far this is my favorite. The caramel flavoring is rich and the salted notes are a nice touch. I kept going back to this one for just one more taste. It is truly addicting. If you are trying to decide on one Pinnacle over another and you are a caramel fan you should pick up a bottle of Salted Caramel Pinnacle Vodka.

Rating by Laurie Clark: 5.0 stars
*****

Rain Organic Vodka Airplane Bottle

Rain Organic Vodka – Gluten Free

Rain Organic Vodka

Neither one of us have a taste for plain vodka. Rain Organic, however, has an amazing flavor and is incredibly smooth. It lacks the rubbing alcohol bite of most vodkas and almost has a sweetness. This is a great vodka that can be enjoyed and savored. This is the only plain vodka we will be buying again.

Rating by Laurie Clark: 5.0 stars
*****

Pinnacle Peachberry Cobbler Vodka

Pinnacle Peachberry Cobbler Vodka – Gluten Free

Pinnacle Peachberry Cobbler Vodka

Pinnacle vodka and flavorings are gluten free. I don’t know how they create these flavors, but this one lives up to its name. Somehow they managed to make it taste not only like peaches and berries, but also like cobbler. This is one I would drink if offered it at a party, but I would not go buy a whole bottle for home use. It is fun to be able to drink such sinfully named beverages.

Rating by Laurie Clark: 4.0 stars
****

Captain Morgan Parrot Bay Coconut Caribbean Rum

Captain Morgan Parrot Bay Coconut Caribbean Rum – Gluten Free

Captain Morgan Parrot Bay Coconut Caribbean Rum

Everyone knows I am a big fan of coconut, and I love being able to enjoy it in my drinks as well. While there are other coconut rums I prefer over Captain Morgans, this is still a solid coconut rum.

Rating by Laurie Clark: 4.0 stars
****

Pinnacle Whipped Vodka

Pinnacle Whipped Vodka – Gluten Free

Pinnacle Whipped Vodka – Gluten Free

Pinnacle vodka and flavorings are gluten free. This Pinnacle flavor has stuck around for as long as I can remember. That is a testament to its flavor for sure. Pinnacle rotates flavors often. I like this one and can see myself using it in mixed drinks to add sweet whipped cream flavor. On its own it is nice and sweet although not as interestingly flavored as some of the other Pinnacle Vodkas I have tried.

Rating by Laurie Clark: 3.0 stars
***

Pinnacle Pecan Pie Vodka

Pinnacle Pecan Pie Vodka – Gluten Free

Pinnacle Pecan Pie Vodka

Pinnacle vodka and flavorings are gluten free. This one missed the mark a bit for me. I thought it tasted like a watered down version of the Salted Caramel flavor. I did not detect either pecan or pie in the flavorings. It is kinda neat that pie flavored vodka exists and is gluten free.

Rating by Laurie Clark: 2.0 stars
**

Smirnoff Cinna-Sugar Twist Flavored Vodka

Smirnoff Cinna-Sugar Twist Flavored Vodka

Smirnoff Cinna-Sugar Twist Flavored Vodka

Smirnoff is distilled from corn and is gluten free. The Cinna-Sugar twist flavoring is also gluten free. I am very thankful to know this since this stuff is amazing! It tastes just like cinnamon sugar. It reminds me the cinnamon sugar toast I ate as a kid.

Rating by Alan Cook: 5.0 stars
*****

*Note: Smirnoff Ice is not gluten free as it is a malt beverage.