My local Wine & More finally got a new gluten free beer option. I love it when I come across something new to try especially when it will help me relax at the end of the day. First of all I LOVE the name. It makes me feel like I need to conquer this beer to keep everyone safe. I like a beer that gives me a mission. I chose to accept it. 🙂 Continue reading
Horray! TTB updated ruling on gluten free labeling for alcoholic beverages. Check out this link for the official ruling. http://bit.ly/1oh0ZrL
Now back to the post…
No, Estrella Damm Daura is not Gluten Free. Don’t believe us? Go pick up a bottle anywhere in the U.S. Look at the label really carefully. Search for the words gluten free or a symbol meaning this is safe for Celiacs. Hint: you won’t. The reason for this is Estrella Damm Daura Beer is not gluten free. The gluten is supposedly “removed” using a process that “removes” the gluten. This however does not make the beer gluten free. Don’t just take our word for it, though. The TTB states:
Having Celiac Disease or a gluten intolerance no longer means you won’t be able to drink with your friends, or enjoy a cold beer after a long day. Thanks to quite a few companies out there, you can now enjoy an adult beverage without the worry of it making you sick. But, be careful; thanks to a few other companies false claims, you may not be as safe as you think.